Sunday, August 18, 2019
-18 °c

All the winners from the 2019 ESPY Awards


Published 8:26 p.m. ET July 10, 2019 | Updated 12:26 a.m. ET July 11, 2019


The ESPY Awards, ESPN’s annual celebration for all things sports, were held Wednesday in Los Angeles. Comedian Tracy Morgan was the host for the 27th edition of the event.   

And the ESPYS went to:   

Best Breakthrough Athlete: Saquon Barkley, running back, New York Giants.

Best College Athlete: Zion Williamson, Duke basketball player. 

Best Record Breaking Performance:  Drew Brees. Saints quarterback broke NFL all-time record for passing yards in monster Monday night performance against the Redskins.  

Best Comeback:  St. Louis Blues. The Blues went from last in the league in early January to winning the franchise’s first championship in their 52-year history in June. 

Best Moment: Lindsey Vonn, Rob Gronkowski and Dwyane Wade cap incredible careers.

Best Female Athlete: Alex Morgan, USWNT.

— ESPN (@espn) July 11, 2019

Best Play: Katelyn Ohashi’s perfect 10.   

Best Game: Los Angeles Rams’ record-setting victory over the Kansas City Chiefs on “Monday Night Football.”    

Best Male Athlete: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks forward and 2018-19 MVP. 

Your 2019 #ESPYS Best Male Athlete … Giannis Antetokounmpo 🏆

— ESPYS (@ESPYS) July 11, 2019

Best Team: U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team, which won 2019 World Cup.   

From a parade in NYC to the ESPYS in LA, it’s been a whirlwind day for the USWNT 👏

— ESPN (@espn) July 11, 2019

Special Awards

Jimmy V Award for Perseverance: Rob Mendez.

Coach Rob Mendez is the definition of inspiration.

— SportsCenter (@SportsCenter) July 11, 2019

“When you dedicate yourself to something and open your mind to different possibilities … you really can go places in this world.”

Rob Mendez’s acceptance speech is everything.

— ESPN (@espn) July 11, 2019

Pat Tillman Award for Service: U.S. Marine Sgt. Kirstie Ennis.

— ESPYS (@ESPYS) July 11, 2019

“I am one of the lucky ones who came home. Broken, but I’m still here and I still can. So I will continue everyday for those who can’t.”

Kirstie Ennis, winner of the Pat Tillman Award for Service 👏

— SportsCenter (@SportsCenter) July 11, 2019

Best Coach: Jim Calhoun, the 77-year-old, three-time Division I national champion at UConn and Basketball Hall of Famer, is now coach at the University of Saint Joseph at the Division III level. 

“We all have moments of quit in us. But I want to go out on my terms. So therefore, I’m gonna fight this.”

Jim Calhoun’s resilience both on and off the court is why he is this year’s Best Coach at the @ESPYS. Join the fight at

— ESPN (@espn) July 11, 2019

Arthur Ashe Award for Courage: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics legend and Basketball Hall of Famer.  

— ESPN (@espn) July 11, 2019

Capital One Cup winners: Stanford women and Virginia men.   

The rest of the awards

Best Viral Sports Moment: Ohashi. 

Best Upset: Andy Ruiz Jr. defeats Anthony Joshua.  

Best International Men’s Soccer Player: Lionel Messi.

Best International Women’s Soccer Player: Sam Kerr.

Best NFL Player: Patrick Mahomes.

Best MLB Player: Christian Yelich.

Best NHL Player: Alexander Ovechkin.

Best Driver: Kyle Busch.

Best NBA Player: Antetokounmpo.

Best WNBA Player: Breanna Stewart.

Best Boxer: Canelo Álvarez.

Best MMA Fighter: Daniel Cormier.

Best Male Golfer: Brooks Koepka.

Best Female Golfer: Brooke Henderson.

Best Male Tennis Player: Roger Federer.

Best Female Tennis Player: Serena Williams.

Best Male Action Sports Athlete: Nyjah Huston.

Best Female Action Sports Athlete: Chloe Kim.

Best Jockey: Mike Smith.

Best Male Athlete with a Disability: Mark Barr.

Best Female Athlete with a Disability: Allysa Seely.

Best Bowler: Norm Duke.

Best MLS Player: Zlatan Ibrahimović.

Best NWSL Player: Sam Kerr. 

Best Esports Moment: oLarry returns to NBA2k.

Best WWE Moment: Roman Reigns returns to WWE Raw.


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

Related Posts

Login to your account below

Fill the forms bellow to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.